Interview Proposal

One of the things that always bothered me in literature classes was the teacher explaining layered symbolism in the story. I’m not saying the teacher was just making stuff up, but I always thought it would be nice to ask the author “is that what you were trying to show?” or “did you consciously think about the symbolism while writing this description?”

I bring it up because I had thought about doing a companion piece to the three “songs”  For Old Friends and Ghosts of Friends that I would write up as a mock interview while I was still working out the verse forms. I have talked to a couple of people about the pieces and was going to insert some of those conversations, but I thought it might be fun to get some questions from my readers.

Ground rules:

I will not answer “who” any of the addressed are. If you are wondering “is this me?” ask me in an email or a private message. But even by private message, I won’t answer about somebody other than the asker.

I have a pretty limited reader base, so ask as many questions as you want including follow-ups on potential answers.

To avoid duplicate questions, post in the comments section of this post (this will also give anyone interested a little preview )

That’s it for guidelines. Inspiration, symbols, ask about it all. I’m going to write the interview anyway, but I think it would be fun if you help out. At the very least, answering your questions instead of mine will feel less like delusional self-importance and anytime I can delude myself to believe that I’m not delusional is good.

If you haven’t read them yet, Here they are:

For Actors

For Singers

For Brothers

I’m hoping to have a little fun with audience participation, so please participate.

– J.S.S.

6 Responses to “Interview Proposal”

  1. Faith Smith Says:

    Super fun excersize. I am excited to see the dialogue

  2. I have no questions, but I will say that the loss of what once was and might have been is a theme that has been on my mind a lot lately. 2012 has been about the loss of family, old friends going by the wayside, and finding out who is truly valuable to me. These three posts have made those ideas sharper.
    Thank you for this langorous soak in the melancholy of hindsight.

  3. Kathy Nightingale: What did you come here for anyway?
    Sally Sparrow: I love old things. They make me feel sad.
    Kathy Nightingale: What’s good about sad?
    Sally Sparrow: It’s happy for deep people.

Leave a Reply

